Welcome to AIPS

The American Institute of Pakistan Studies (AIPS), established in 1973, is a bi-national research and education organization with a mission to promote academic study of Pakistan in the US and to encourage scholarly exchange between the US and Pakistan.

It is a 501(c)(3) tax exempt, autonomous organization and a member of the Council of American Overseas Research Centers.

slideshow 1 slideshow 2 slideshow 3 slideshow 4 slideshow 5


Meet the Editors of Critical Pakistan Studies

Meet the editors of the Cambridge University Press journal, Critical Pakistan Studies at this year’s Annual Conference on South Asia in Madison, WI. This panel will present the mission of Critical Pakistan Studies for prospective contributors to the journal. It also covers the different formats of intellectual inquiry that the journal publishes. After a series of short collective and individual presentations by the editors, there will be an open Q&A session for those attending the panel.

Fall 2023 AIPS Urdu Course

AIPS will be hosting the Introduction to Urdu Language and Culture online course this fall. Enrollment is open to all interested in exploring the Urdu language and culture. Participants will have the opportunity to gain a solid foundation in Urdu and learn about the rich cultural traditions of Pakistan and other Urdu-speaking regions. No previous knowledge is required, and participants can earn up to 2.0 CEU credits for completing the course.

AIPS Treasurer Election Results

AIPS is excited to announce the recent Treasurer election results!

Dr. Michael Hirsch (Huston-Tillotson University) has been elected the next AIPS Treasurer. Thank you to the Nominating Committee for organizing the election and to Dr. Hirsch for his willingness to serve AIPS!

2023 AIPS Short-Term Research Grants

AIPS is excited to announce the Short-Term Research Grants for 2023. Our recipients are Ahmed Afzal, California State University-Fullerton; Daniel Waqar, Tufts University; Ijaz Ahmad, University of Georgia; Jonathan Paramore, University of California-Santa Cruz; Muntazir Ali, Brown University; Noor Habib, University of Massachusetts-Amherst; Omar Gondal, Washington University in St. Louis; Osama Ahmad, Brown University; Sharmeen Mehri, University of Buffalo-SUNY; Syed Haider Shahbaz, University of California-Los Angeles.

2023 Suhail Zaheer Lari Memorial Fellowship Fund

Congratulations to Muhammad Zubair Abro for being chosen as the 2023 recipient of the Suhail Zaheer Lari Memorial Fellowship Fund!